French Toast Casserole

IMG_1620

Taking a look at all of the snow from inside our cozy, warm home.

I cannot believe the amount of snow we’ve had recently, but honestly, I am so over it! I’m am not a cold-weather girl, that’s for sure. My favorite part about the winter weather is that I get to stay home with my little family and have an official snow day!

IMG_1617

Someone couldn’t wait until the casserole was done!

Snow days call for cooking. And cooking = baking something sweet and delicious! My MIL made this recipe when Adam, Kate and I visited Pittsburgh in December. She was sweet enough to share her recipe with me and I’ve made it twice since: Christmas Day brunch and this past snow day. I’m happy to share it with you all! If/When you make it, let me know what you think! 🙂

Ingredients

  • 1 C Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 C Butter
  • 2 Tbs Corn Syrup
  • 7 Eggs
  • 2 C Milk (I always use whole milk when baking)
  • 1 tsp Vanilla (I’ve probably shared this before, but this is my favorite and worth the extra $)
  • 1 Loaf Cinnamon Swirl Bread*
  • Butter for top
  • Pecans for topping (if desired)

1. Slice bread into thick slices, cube, and set aside.

2. In a medium sauce pan over medium heat, mix and melt the brown sugar, butter and corn syrup.

3. Spray 13 x 9 baking dish with nonstick spray and fill with butter mixture.

4. Beat eggs, milk and vanilla.

5. Arrange bread in baking dish over the butter mixture. Pour egg mixture over the bread. DO NOT MISS ANY SPOTS! And use all of the mixture – the bread will absorb it!

6. Dot with butter and pecans.

7. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate over night.

8. When you’re ready to bake the casserole, uncover and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until golden brown.

FullSizeRender

Serve the casserole alongside some bacon and you’ve got yourself a comfort meal.

*I typically use Pepperidge Farm Cinnamon Swirl Bread, however, since it was a snow day and I didn’t have a loaf of the usual stuff, I used store brand hot dog and hamburger buns and it turned out just fine! I just added a little extra brown sugar and about 2 Tbs of cinnamon. So get creative and use what you’ve got!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

