Broccoli Frittata

BroccoliFrittata

I never eat breakfast…I know it’s the most important meal of the day, but if you know me, you know I’m not a morning person. My sleep comes before food.

I was reading an old Food and Wine the other day and stumbled upon this Broccoli Frittata recipe. It seemed simple and delicious so I thought I’d give it a try. It was super simple, but I under salted, so make sure you use enough seasoning!

Here’s what you’ll need:

Ingredients

  • 1 garlic clove, thinly sliced (I used the ready-to-use minced garlic)
  • 2 Tbs olive oil
  • 3 1/2 cups broccoli florets
  • 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper (I would use a little less…but tweak depending on how hot you want your dish)
  • Salt
  • Black Pepper
  • 8 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese (it is so worth it to buy a block and shred it yourself with a microplane – I have this one and I use it almost every day!)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. In an oven-safe skillet, heat a small amount of olive oil and garlic. Add the broccoli and red pepper. Let cook for 2-3 minutes until the broccoli turns bright green and begins to get tender.

3. In a bowl, whisk the egg with salt and pepper. I also added a little milk (just a little bit!) to make the eggs fluffier.

4. Pour egg mixture over broccoli and cook for about 3 minutes.

5. Sprinkle the cheese on top and put the frittata in the oven. Let it cook for about 10-12 minutes, until the center is set.

Like I mentioned, breakfast is difficult for me…I originally made this with the hopes of taking it to work and eating in my office. I ended up having it for lunch (with a side of risotto), which was tasty. So my point is, this broccoli frittata is versatile. Eat it any time of the day!

Next time I make it, I think I may also add some more veggies like mushrooms and spinach. Yum!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

