Stitch Fix: Box One

I’ll be honest I was hesitant to try StitchFix…how could someone I have never met possibly know my style? I don’t even know my style! Whatever is comfortable…is that a style? Anyway, I thought I’d give it a shot. I read a lot of reviews about setting up your style profile which all said to be as specific as possible. I took advantage of the option to add links and included links to my “Fashion Envy” Pinterest board and my LinkedIn profile. I also wrote a short yet detailed summary which I have included below (in case you’re trying to set up your own profile!). I also chose all of the “the cheaper, the better options” as I have heard most items cost more than what I’m used to paying at Target or the outlets. Once I received my box I was surprised at how reasonable the prices are. Plus the $20 styling fee is applied, and if you keep your entire box there is a 25% discount.

I know the suspense is nearly killing you…so what did I get in my box?!

skirt

Item 1 –  Teal maxi skirt. I love the color and the idea (I love maxi dresses), however, I’m pear-shaped I guess you could say, and it just fit too tight across my hips. SENT BACK.

tank

Item 2 – Striped tank. This definitely looks like something I would own. In fact I’m quite certain I have this shirt with sleeves. I think I have three of them. And I would have kept this tank had it been just a tad longer. Or if I had a skirt to wear it with like Marie, my stylist, suggested. But I don’t. SENT BACK.

knit

Item 3 – Navy cardigan. I knew I was keeping this item as soon as I put it on. It was soft, light-weight and I can see myself wearing this with jeans or a skirt. It’s so easy to dress up or down. I just see so much potential here! KEPT.

white shirt

Item 4 – White shirt. I struggled with this shirt…I think I wanted to like it. I just couldn’t. It’s soft and comfy, but it just isn’t memorable. SENT BACK.

coral jeans

Item 5 – Coral jeans. I’ve always wanted a good pair of colored jeans. I have been thinking about getting a pair of mint jeans, however, I just haven’t had a lot of time to shop (because we all know life isn’t busy with a 5-month-old!). Needless to say, I was happy to see these suckers. And wanted them to fit so bad. And they did! I walked into my closet and instantly put together several outfits. It’s like I have a whole new wardrobe just by adding a pretty pair of jeans. KEPT.

Here’s the letter from Marie. She offered some tips of how to style my items and what to wear with them.

Stitch Fix

Overall I was satisfied, impressed even, with Marie’s efforts. I’ve actually already scheduled Box #2 for the end of August. I can’t wait to see what she picks out for me!

If you’re setting up your profile and want an example of some info to add to help your stylist pick items you’ll love, here are my final comments in my style profile:

“I work in mktg and interior design for a local bldr/sell real estate, and am a new mom. I need clothes that are comfortable, but professional. I like wearing maxi dresses, and jeans with dressy tops. Bc I have a 5-month-old, I can’t wear a lot of jewelry, but if I do it’s usually bracelets/sm necklaces. I buy clothes from Target, J.Crew, Gap, Banana Republic, Loft.”

And if you want to try StitchFix for yourself, you can use my referral link. I greatly appreciate it! 🙂 Let me know how it works out for you! And if you like it, share with your friends so you can get credits, too!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Stitch Fix: Box One

  1. Very interesting, and thanks for sharing a write-up about it. Question: do you schedule how often you want to receive the boxes, or is it something that comes on a pre-scheduled (monthly, etc.) basis?

Leave a Reply

