White Bean Chicken Chili

A friend of mine had surgery this week and I wanted to do something to help. A meal is often much appreciated so I decided I would make something that could be frozen but easily prepared when she and her family were ready to eat it. The challenging part about cooking a meal was that she doesn’t eat dairy or gluten! I’m not very familiar with these dietary restrictions so I made sure to run my recipe by her husband (who I work with) before settling on what I would prepare. After racking my brain (dairy was the hardest ingredient to eliminate for me!) I remembered a delicious chili one of my friends made at our baby shower in October. It was a chicken chili that was easy, delicious and easy to prepare.

Photo

This recipe makes so much, (8-10 servings) that I even had a little for myself. I added rice to it to make it more substantial (and let’s be honest, I need my carbs!).

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 2 T vegetable oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 (14.5 oz) can chicken broth; I prefer low sodium
  • 1 (16 oz) jar salsa verde
  • 1 (16 oz) can diced tomatoes; I used Roltel with green chilis
  • 1/2 t dried oregano
  • 1/2 t ground coriander seed; I skipped this ingredient
  • 1/4 t ground cumin
  • 2 ears fresh corn; you can also use a bag of frozen or 1 (15 oz) can
  • 1 lb cooked, shredded chicken
  • 1 (15 oz) can white beans
  • Salt and pepper to taste

1. Cook chicken in crock pot overnight. I added a little bit of water, salt and pepper.

2. Next day, shred chicken. Heat oil, and cook onion and garlic until soft.

3. In your crock pot, stir in broth, salsa, tomatoes and spices with chicken, onion and garlic.

4. Add corn and beans. Season with salt and pepper. Let simmer for four hours.

5. Serve with a combination of the following: cheese, sour cream/plan Greek yogurt, avocado, lime, cilantro, and tortilla chips.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

