Kate: One Month

DSC_0092 

Dear Baby Girl,

Wow! Where has this first month gone?! I cannot believe that one month ago we were at the hospital awaiting your arrival! It seems like yesterday. People always told me, ” you think time passes quickly now, just wait until you have kids!” and those words could not be more true! How I just want time to stand still so your dad and I can enjoy every single moment with you!

You had a well appointment this morning where we learned you weigh 9 lbs. 7 oz. (60 %), and are 21.5 in tall (72%)! You also got your second dose of the Hepatitis B shot. You did so good! Only cried for not even a minute when the nurse gave you the shot. You’re such a good girl, and you’re growing up so fast!

We call you all sorts of fun nicknames like Special K, Kramer Baby (sometimes that hair is unruly!), and Wiggle Worm. I wonder which one(s) will stick?

You’re eating approximately 2-4 oz. every 2-4 hours. Typically during the day you eat every 2 hours, but at night you’re able to hold off to every 3 to 4 hours. Thank you, little one! You must know how mommy likes her sleep. 🙂 You almost always get a case of the hiccups, which is so cute, but I feel bad for you because they literally make your whole body shake! You’re a champ though; no tears from my tough girl!

Since you surprised us nine days early, we really had no small clothes for you to wear! Fortunately a friend sent a couple of outfits to the hospital as a gift. For the first two weeks you were wearing newborn, but now that you’ve grown a little you fill out a three month outfit nicely!

Overall I’d say you’re a fairly easy going baby. You cry when you need a diaper change, and when you’re hungry, and of course, when you have gas. You even have developed this little diva cry; I’m going to record it once so that I can keep it forever. It’s so cute. I know nothing is really wrong with you, you’re just trying to tell us that you want some attention. I guess you feel as though you aren’t getting enough. But believe me, you are the apple of our eye! You’re starting to make eye contact. Today during tummy time I began talking above your head, starting on one side and moved to the other. You are so strong; you picked up your head and moved it to the other side, following the sound of my voice! Your dad and I were so impressed! It may be just my biased opinion, but I think you’re pretty advanced for your young age. 😉

You love baths! So far you’ve had two, and GG has given them both to you while I assisted. To be honest, I’m a little nervous. But GG is a pro! You also really like swinging in your bird swing, having books read to you, and listening to your Rockabye Baby music. You have also recently (in the last two days) discovered the T.V. You watched a little golf with Dad yesterday. I believe it was the Honda Golf Tournament and Russell Henley won in a four-way tie! I don’t know a lot about golf, but I think that’s the first time that has happened…you’ll have to ask your dad to be sure. Anyway, tonight you caught a few minutes of The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills. It’s my guilty pleasure.

So far we know you don’t like a couple of things like being dirty, however, you hate to have your diaper changed! I know it’s cold, but it only lasts a few minutes! You also were not a big fan of tummy time the first time we tried it, but you’ve come around. Now you’ll do tummy time for about three or so minutes.

The weather has been pretty horrible lately and we haven’t be able to get out much. We got a few inches of snow and ice a couple of weeks ago, and now we’re supposed to get more ice! But we did get you out yesterday, on exactly your one month birthday, to GG and Papa’s (you’ve been twice! this weekend and last), and the outlets in Smithfield (Polo, J. Crew, and Gap – your dad made me promise we wouldn’t go too many places). Pretty soon shopping is going to be one your favorite activities, I just have this feeling. We better start saving now…

You make us smile every single day, sweet girl. You are our sunshine and we can’t wait to learn more about you as you grow!

We love you so much little one, always and forever!

Mom and Dad

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Kate: One Month

  1. Steph

    Catching up — love this! She will cherish this someday! And yes, she is very advanced; I know it 🙂

  2. Pingback: Kate: Two Months | The Miller Lite

Leave a Reply

