A Picture

image (11)

Me, Grandmother and Adam at our gender reveal party. I am so thankful that we got to share our exciting news with her! ::After I showed her this photo she reacted, “Oh my goodness! I look like I’m 100 years old! Oh, well, I guess I almost am!”::

If you’ve heard it once you’ve heard it a millions times, “A picture is worth a thousand words.” Hearing it today though, is a little different. It hits closer to home, and it makes me wish things could have turned out differently. Although I’m so thankful for the recent photo above (among others), I wish I could have at least had just one picture of Grandmother with Kate.

Last night we lost my great grandmother, Bettie Kate, who would have been 95 years old at the end of this month. Just to think of all the events she witnessed in her time here, and all of the changes and technological advances she lived through is incredible! She lived through WWI, The Great Depression and 9/11, just to name a few. She grew up on a farm and as the oldest daughter of 12 children, Β took care of most of the chores and watching out for her younger siblings. She was a mighty good cook and made the best chicken and pastry I’ve ever had! I used to spend weeks during the summer with her and we would bake…and bake and bake! We made everything! My favorite was the “Earthquake Cake” we made on more than one occasion. But the Hershey bar cake is a close second. She found recipes in the local newspaper and would clip them out and hold on to them until the next time we were having a sleepover. She also saved the Mini Pages every week and the next time I would visit, she’d pass them along to me. Very active in her church, she was a woman of God and strong in her faith. She used to brush her teeth with nothing but water and baking soda because that’s what she used growing up (and to my knowledge she still had all of her teeth!). Grandmother got her hair done every Friday and always looked like a million bucks!

So you can see why Adam and I wanted to name our sweet daughter, due to arrive in two short months, after such a strong and classy lady. Which is why I’m so upset that my Grandmother will never get to meet her great-great grand daughter. All I wanted was one picture of the two of them together, so that Kate would know that she had the honor and privilege of meeting such a special lady. So that the woman she was named after would have held her, just even once.

But I know that Grandmother is at peace now, and is in a better place. I know she was getting tired and was ready to meet her maker. I am so inspired by her, and by the life that she lived and hope that I can be half the Southern belle she was. Tomorrow we will celebrate her life, recapping stories and reliving special moments that we shared. And I’ll be sure to never forget my time with her, and look forward to telling my daughter all about her great-great grandmother, Bettie Kate.

Mrs Bettie Carroll

Bettie Kate Carroll
Dec. 30, 1918 – Dec. 1, 2013

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Picture

  1. Steph

    Jess, this is beautiful. And it is memories like this that will allow her to live on, even in Kate’s life. Please share this with Kate someday, as well as other sweet memories you cherish in your heart. Kate is so blessed to be named for such an amazing woman. And she is blessed to have another amazing woman as her mother πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

