Apple Pie Filling

Adam and I will be hosting Thanksgiving for both of our families at our house this year. I’m so excited to host the meal that I’ve already decided on the menu and have started preparing things I can freeze. We received lots of apples in our Produce Box this week (and last week!), so I knew I had to make something to incorporate the apples. I love apple pie, and since I’m planning to make these Pumpkin Dessert Squares, I know I want to serve a dessert other than pumpkin pie. This recipe for apple pie filling is so easy to assemble and can be frozen, so it’s the perfect item to make in advance.

Here’s what you’ll need:

Ingredients

  • 5-6 apples (peeled, cored and sliced – I used an apple cutter to make it easier)
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 Tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 Tbsp flour
  • 1 Tbsp cloves
  • 1 Tbsp nutmeg

1. Place apples in a large mixing bowl.

photo 1

2. Add sugar, cinnamon, flour, cloves and nutmeg.

photo 2

3. Toss gently, and pour into a freezer safe bag.

photo 3

Ta-da! Now you have apple pie filling perfect for a pie, crisp, or just warm and serve with vanilla ice cream!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment