[Labor Day] Weekend Recap

I def needed the extra day last weekend! Adam and I drove down to Atlanta for the Chickfila Kickoff game against Alabama and Virginia Tech (Adam’s alma mater) at the Georgia Dome. We met several of his college friends (who we haven’t seen since our wedding!) on Friday and made a weekend of it!

We had dinner at 1 Kept, and let me tell you….it was amazing! We started with the White Truffle Popcorn w/Parmesan to share with the table. It was literally the best popcorn I’ve ever had. I also got the spinach salad with dried cranberries and oranges with a lemon vinaigrette dressing (I asked them to hold the feta since I don’t think I’m supposed to eat it being pregnant and all). Again, so delicious; I ate every bite. For my main course I ordered the seared scallops with corn risotto, however, I wasn’t a big fan of the risotto. It wasn’t as good as Adam’s homemade version. Luckily he order the meatloaf with mashed potatoes, so we traded. Wow…the veal meatloaf was sooo good. I complimented the dish to the waitress and she told me that it’s 100% veal meat, no fillers. No wonder it was so tasty. After dinner we headed to the Holeman & Finch Public House for drinks(I had water of course). The place was very small but really neat. It reminded me of a place that’d be in Spain…they had cured meats hanging in the windows and some of their menu items were not typical dishes you’d see often here in the states.

The next morning we ate breakfast at the hotel and then headed to the Coke Museum. I have been several years ago, so I was really just interested in getting to the tasting portion of the tour. I was hopeful that they’d have Lemon Fanta (it became my favorite soda while visiting Spain), however I was disappointed to find that they didn’t have it!!! I can’t find this stuff anywhere, y’all! 😦 Anyway, we had a good time, but I was really looking forward to going to the aquarium since I had never been.

coke

After the tour at Coke, the rest of the group went to hang out in Centennial ParkΒ where vendors had set up tents and were giving away/selling game paraphernalia. Adam and I headed to the Georgia AquariumΒ 1. because I have been wanting to go since it opened and 2. because I didn’t want to battle the heat for any longer than necessary. We got our tickets (saw Sheryl Crow in line! Adam and I had a huge debate about whether or not that Β was her and I totally won because we later found out she was performing at Centennial Park that afternoon…plus I’m pretty good at recognizing people) and entered the largest aquarium I have ever seen! It was so nice. We went through every single exhibit (except the Dolphin show because it just didn’t work out with our timing) and I was so amazed. If you’re in the area I highly recommend it! The only thing was it was so crowded…and soooo many little kids! But it wasn’t too bad. It was what I expected for a Saturday afternoon.

Fish

We wrapped up at the aquarium and joined Adam’s friends in the park for a short while before heading to the VT Tailgate at the Georgia World Congress Center aka the largest building I’ve ever been in. Since Chickfila was the sponsor we had chicken sandwiches and sides…I can always eat Chickfila, esp since I’ve been pregnant! After lunch we headed to the Pep Rally and then to the game.

vtpep

The Georgia Dome is super nice, and I was thankful it was inside…I really couldn’t take anymore of that heat! The game was somewhat entertaining (Alabama really is so good), but we all know it ended with a VT loss. Bummer. But they honestly held their own and the defense looked pretty good! Once the game was over we went back to the hotel and watched the Clemson/Georgia game in the lobby before going up to bed. It was a super long day but it was nice spending time with Adam’s friends, esp since it had been so long since we last saw them!

On Sunday we headed home pretty early. On Monday I slept in and relaxed, thankful for an extra day off from work! We also celebrated one of my best friend’s little girl’s first birthday! I always love spending time with my girls (and their little girls!) We had a blast!Β 

girls

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

