Food Review: McBites

McDonald's McBites

While we were traveling this weekend, Adam and I decided to swing by McDonald’s to try their new Chicken McBites (we actually had them twice; once for lunch when we got to Pittsburgh and a second time for “brunch” at the airport on our way back). To my surprise, I thought they were delicious! I’m not a huge fan of their McNuggets…have you seen/heard what they put in those things?

What's in chicken nuggets

That you see there, is mechanically separated chicken.

That pink goo is the result of a machine scraping clean every ounce of chicken meat off of the bones and putting it through a high pressure sieve. Then, sources say, “because it’s crawling with bacteria, it will be washed with ammonia…because it tastes gross, it will be reflavored artificially. Then, because it is weirdly pink, it will be dyed with artificial color.”

So needless to say, my expectations were low.

The first time I encountered these bite-sized chicken poppers was when Adam ordered them for lunch. He had seen them advertised at our local McDonald’s and was anxious to try them. I, on the other hand, had never heard of them and decided on a classic order which one can’t go wrong: a hamburger happy meal with apple dippers. I’m not opposed to trying new foods, but I have a difficult time committing to something out of the ordinary. In other words I have to know that I like the item before I’ll order it. Adam offered to let me try one. I wish I could say I just ate one….but no. Poor guy, I probably ate half of his meal. I couldn’t believe how delicious they were! I even bit one in half to see what the meat looked like….yup. It’s real, white meat chicken.

I couldn’t wait to order my own, so while at the airport waiting for our flight back home we ordered the “shareable” size. Yes, I ordered McDonald’s at 10:30 a.m. I believe we were the first folks to order lunch. Anyhow, I enjoyed dunking my chicken McBites in their buffalo sauce while taking advantage of the fancy box, designed with a convenient cutout to hold my dipping sauce.

I will be getting another order some time soon. If you’re interested in trying these puppies you better act fast. They are only available for a limited time!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

