This Weekend

I always hate Sunday nights. I think whoever came up with life’s schedule has it backwards; the work week should be two days and the weekends five!

Nonetheless, Adam and I had a great weekend with good friends, lots of delicious food and even some time to relax. Friday night we went to Beasley’s Chicken and Honey with Brad and Ashley to celebrate their recent engagement. I immediately loved the restaurant! It is a quaint place with a very relaxed vibe. Like it’s sister restaurant, Poole’s Diner, the menu is on a blackboard on the wall and you have to walk up to the bar to read it. It’s a lot better than Poole’s though…there’s one large board on the wall behind the bar, so you don’t feel like you’re disturbing intimate diners which has been my experience at Poole’s. Since we were a few minutes early, Adam and I took a seat at the bar and ordered a couple of cocktails; he got the Gold Rush and I the John Daly. I didn’t try Adam’s but mine was good.

Once the rest of our party arrives, we were seated immediately which impressed me being that it was a Friday night. Maybe the rainy, nasty weather attributed to fewer folks venturing out for dinner. We started with the fried shrimp, one of their appetizer specials, and the kennedy biscuits. The shrimp was amazing! It was served with a tomato remoulade dipping sauce. For my entree, I ordered the chicken biscuit with a side of “muddy pond” sorghum baked beans. It was delicious! I prefer more chicken than crispy breading, and that was not the case, but it was still quite tasty. To be honest with you, the beans weren’t anything to write home about, but they were good enough. Adam ordered the mac-n-cheese custard. It reminded me of overcooked mac and cheese, but somehow I liked it. I think it was the pimento cheese flavor that did it for me. For dessert we all split (okay, maybe I ate most of it) the bourbon chocolate pecan pie my with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. This piece of pie was easily my favorite course of the night, and a great way to end a wonderful evening with friends. We are looking forward to trying Chuck’s soon!

Chicken biscuit with "muddy pond" baked beans and a John Daly

On Saturday we had Mikey and Sarah, and Matt and Jen over for dinner. Adam made braised short ribs in the crockpot with a soy honey sauce, and mashed potatoes with gravy. I made an orchard salad with granny smith apples, crasins, walnuts, and goat cheese. I even made my own champagne vinaigrette. We all had a wonderful time planning our Vegas trip and rehashing events from our New Year’s at the cabin.

After the dinner party

I haven’t seen my friend Ashlee in ages! Since she got a new job I don’t see her as often. It was nice to catch up over lunch on Sunday at Tasu.  If you’re ever looking for a good, inexpensive sushi or Asian restaurant, I highly recommend Tasu. We started out with soup and salad, and each got two sushi rolls. We had to take advantage of the buy one get one free deal!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

