Card Wreath

Anyone who knows me knows I LOVE getting mail! Cards, wedding/birth announcements, pictures…I love mail! Lately we’ve been getting a lot of nice message and invites, and our fridge has completely run out of room! I can’t throw anything away so I desperately needed to come up with an idea (or find one on pinterest) of something easy and economical that I could do to display my photos and cards. Check out this photo wreath I discovered! It was exactly what I was looking for: cheap and easy!

Materials:

  • Embroidery hoop
  • Clothes pins
  • Acrylic paint
  • Paint pens
  • Wide ribbon
  • Hot glue gun or wood glue

1. Arrange clothes pins on an embroidery hoop to determine the spacing. Mark the hoop with a pencil where each clothespin will be added. I used an 8 Β½” hoop with regular-sized clothes pins spaced 2″ apart. The top two clothes pins are spaced 3″ apart to allow for the wide ribbon for hanging.

20120112-210951.jpg

2. Paint the tops of the clothes pins a solid color using the acrylic paint. Add designs/doodles using the paint pens. If you prefer, you could leave the clothes pins their natural wood color for a more rustic look. If you’re not a fan of painting but would like a design, you can also use scrapbook paper or craft tape.

20120112-211018.jpg

3. Use a hot glue gun (or wood glue) to add the clothes pins to the embroidery hoop. Alternate the clothes pins to point outward and inward to maximize space.

20120112-211035.jpg

4. Add ribbon for hanging and voilΓ ! Your wreath is ready for photos and embellishing. Add items carefully to keep the clothespins in place (I broke one of my clothes when trying to secure a picture and had to re-glue it!).

I loved doing this project because it’s so versatile and useful! You can decorate the wreath however you’d like; hang it on a door or the wall. The possibilities are endless!

What are some useful craft projects you’ve done recently?

5 Comments

Filed under Crafts

5 responses to “Card Wreath

  1. Steph Parker

    I LOVE this!!! What a great idea!! xoxo

  2. It is both decorative AND functional! I am totally going to steal this idea for my lady-friend πŸ˜‰

  3. Sami Salek

    It turned out so cute, Jess! I want to make one!

Leave a Reply

