Beautiful Lengths

Each year it is estimated that nearly 200,000 women are diagnosed with breast cancer. It continues to be the second most common type of cancer found in women, falling only slightly behind skin cancer. I’m sure most of you have been affected in some capacity with this awful disease, but the good news is that progress continues to be made. Researchers are making strides in treatment methods and care. I’m hoping that in the near future, breast cancer will be a thing of the past!

About a year ago I learned that my Aunt Diane was battling breast cancer. This was the third family member to be diagnosed; My Aunt Jennie and my great grandmother had only recently become cancer free. I cannot express how much I admire all three of these women [and all women who have been diagnosed with breast cancer!] for their courage and determination. In honor of everyone I know who has battled this disease, I decided I would grow out my hair and donate it to be used to make a wig to be given to women affected by cancer. I heard about Pantene’s Beautiful Lengths program through a friend and found out that hair donations are made into FREE, real-hair wigs by campaign partner, HairUWear, and are distributed through the national network of American Cancer Society wig banks. It’s been a week since my haircut, and I have to admit it’s so refreshing to sport a new ‘do! Check out the before and after pictures below.

Before

After

If you’re interested in getting involved, the Susan G. Komen Foundation is a great organization to support. Adam and I are planning to participate in the annual Race for the Cure this summer. We’d love for you to join us!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

